top of page

Webinar 2: Dynamics of Social Inclusion & Exclusion within Youth Activism


2023 Virtual Plenary Series on Youth Activism and Social Change, hosted by the Centre for Urban Youth Research, is a monthly webinar series on youth activism. The aim of the series is to provide a must-have introduction to critical scholarship on youth activism and the study of the phenomenon of youth activism itself within the context of global power relations. The series will consist of three webinars presenting a guide and direction for scholars, students, and activists for better understanding youth activism and social change at local, transnational, and global levels. They will also offer an exploration of emerging theoretical and methodological approaches that have been mobilized through studies of youth activism.

This second event of the series will foreground critical, intersectional engagement with the structural and cultural pathways to the landscape of youth activism, including but not limited to the role of social class, education, race, sexuality, gender, age, and intra-generational inequalities. Highlighting feminist and social justice scholarship, the webinar will provide discussion and resources to understand and analyze the multilayered, complex subjectivities of youth activist identities.

Speakers:

• Hava R. Gordon, University of Denver

• Janet Batsleer, Manchester Metropolitan University

• Julia Sinclair-Palm, Carleton University

• Stuart Poyntz, Simon Fraser University (Moderator)

Date: Monday, March 27th

Time: 9:00 am – 10:30 am (MST) / 11:00 am – 12:30 pm (EST) / 4:00 pm – 5:30 pm (GMT)

Please register for the Zoom log-in details: https://www.eventbrite.ca/e/573143185697

For further inquiries, please feel free to contact us: info@urbanyouthresearch.ca

Centre For Urban Youth Research Team

137 views0 comments
bottom of page